Skip to main content
Tokens

Learn how to personalize messages with Tokens and the different tokens available to use.

Eric Range avatar
Written by Eric Range
Updated over a week ago

Overview

Tokens in Element451 are a powerful feature that allows you to generate personalized, dynamic content for your campaigns, both email and SMS. They act as placeholders in your messages, which are replaced with actual data from your contacts’ records when the message is sent.

What Are Tokens?

Tokens are essentially small bits of code that represent placeholders for personalized content. For example, you might see a token like [user:intended_major] in your message. When the recipient receives the message, this token will be replaced with the specific data from their contact record.

How Tokens Work

When you include a token in your message, Element451 automatically pulls the relevant information from the contact’s record. This means each recipient gets a message tailored to their specific information.

For example, if Alma has an intended major in Biology and Annie has an intended major in Accounting, [user:intended_major] would be replaced with Biology in the message for Alma and Accounting in the message for Annie.


Token Anatomy

Tokens in Element451 follow a specific structure:

[type:method,param=value,param=value,...]

  • type: Identifies the token provider (e.g., user, custom, event)

  • method: Specifies the required method from the provider (e.g., user:{mapping})

  • param: Name of the parameter recognized by the chosen method

  • value: Value assigned to the parameter


Using Parameters to Modify Tokens

Global parameters can be used with any token. They modify how the token behaves or displays its value.

Parameter Options

  • fallback

    • Description: Defines the default value if the token value cannot be found.

    • Example: [user:first_name,fallback=Friend] => “Alma” or “Student”

  • prefix

    • Description: Adds a prefix if the token value is not empty.

    • Example: [user:first_name,prefix=Dear] => “Dear Alma”

  • suffix

    • Description: Adds a suffix if the token value is not empty.

    • Example: [user:first_name,suffix=.] => “Alma.”

  • alter

    • Description: Transforms the string token value.

    • Options:

      • uppercase: Converts to uppercase

      • lowercase: Converts to lowercase

      • ucfirst: Capitalizes the first letter

      • slug: Converts to a slug (replaces non-alphanumeric characters with an underscore _)

    • Examples:

      • [user:first_name,alter=uppercase] => “ALMA”

      • [user:first_name,alter=lowercase] => “alma”

      • [user:first_name,alter=ucfirst] => “Alma”

      • [user:email,alter=slug] => “alma_example_com”


Using Tokens in a Campaign Email/SMS

Including a token in your campaign is simple. You can either insert a token using the formatting toolbar within the campaign editor or manually type your token text enclosed in brackets [ ] in the message content.

We recommend inserting the token using the toolbar instead of typing it manually. Once you’ve added the token to the campaign, you can modify it using parameters if needed.

Where + How to Use Tokens in Campaigns

Email Subject Line

  • Click the Add Token button

Email Preview Text

  • Click the Add Token button

Email Body

  • Highlight your text and click the Insert Token icon

SMS Body

  • Click the Add Token button


List of Available Tokens

System Field Tokens

Address

Home City [address:addresses_home_city]

Home Country [address:addresses_home_country]

Home Addresses [address:addresses_home_full]

Home State [address:addresses_home_state]

Home Street1 [address:addresses_home_street1]

Home Street2 [address:addresses_home_street2]

Home Street3 [address:addresses_home_street3]

Home ZipCode [address:addresses_home_zipcode]

Mailing City [address:addresses_mailing_city]

Mailing Country [address:addresses_mailing_country]

Mailing [address:addresses_mailing_full]

Mailing State [address:addresses_mailing_state]

Mailing Street1 [address:addresses_mailing_street1]

Mailing Street2 [address:addresses_mailing_street2]

Mailing Street3 [address:addresses_mailing_street3]

Mailing ZipCode [address:addresses_mailing_zipcode]

Application

Application Portal URL [application:base_url]

Application Login Token [application:login_token]

Application Login URL [application:login_url]

Application Name [application:name]

Application Fee [application:payment_amount]

Application Fee Currency [application:payment_currency]

Appointment

Next Appointment Assignee [appointment:next_appointment_assignee]

Next Appointment Date and Time [appointment:next_appointment_datetime]

Next Appointment Type [appointment:next_appointment_type]

Next Appointment Url [appointment:next_appointment_url]

Client (Institution)

Institution Primary Color [client:color_primary]

Institution Secondary Color [client:color_secondary]

Institution Contact Information [client:contact]

Institution Logo [client:email_logo]

Institution Name [client:name]

Institution Signatures [client:signatures]

Content

Formula [content:formula]

List [content:list]

Custom

Email View in Browser URL [custom:online-view]

Unsubscribe URL [custom:unsubscribe]

Date

Current day [date:day]

Current hour [date:hour]

Current minute [date:minute]

Current month [date:month]

Current date and time [date:now]

Current second [date:second]

Current year [date:year]

Document

Related folder [document:folder]

Original filename [document:original_file]

Document type [document:type]

Event

Event Categories [event:categories]

Event Description [event:description]

Event End Date [event:end_date]

Event End Time [event:end_time]

Event Link [event:event_link]

Event Image [event:image]

Event Location [event:location]

Event Name [event:name]

Event Portal URL [event:site_url]

Event Start Date [event:start_date]

Event Start Time [event:start_time]

Event Timezone [event:timezone]

Event Type [event:type]

Event URL [event:url]

Venue Address [event:venue_address]

Venue Address 2 [event:venue_address2]

Venue Building [event:venue_building]

Venue City [event:venue_city]

Venue Country [event:venue_country]

Venue Name [event:venue_name]

Venue Room [event:venue_room]

Venue State [event:venue_state]

Venue Zip [event:venue_zip]

File

File extension [file:extension]

File guid [file:guid]

File guid (short) [file:guidShort]

File name [file:name]

File size (in bytes) [file:size]

Form

Form Login Token [form:login_token]

Form Login URL [form:login_url]

Identity

School ID [identity:school]

Import + Export

ImportExport task name [ie_task:name]

ImportExport task result error [ie_task:result_error]

ImportExport task result stats count [ie_task:result_stats_count]

ImportExport task result stats created [ie_task:result_stats_created]

ImportExport task result stats exported [ie_task:result_stats_exported]

ImportExport task result stats failed [ie_task:result_stats_failed]

ImportExport task result stats skipped [ie_task:result_stats_skipped]

ImportExport task result stats unchanged [ie_task:result_stats_unchanged]

ImportExport task result stats updated [ie_task:result_stats_updated]

ImportExport task result stats worker [ie_task:result_stats_worker]

ImportExport task result stats worker_done [ie_task:result_stats_worker_done]

ImportExport task result warnings [ie_task:result_warnings]

Info Request

Recommender First Name [inforequest:first_name]

Recommender Last Name [inforequest:last_name]

Landing Page

Landing Page Token [landingpage:login_token]

Link

Link - Email [link:email]

Link - URL [link:link]

Microsite

Site451 Login Token [microsite:login_token]

Site451 Login URL [microsite:login_url]

Survey

Survey Description [survey:description]

Survey End Date [survey:end]

Survey Name [survey:name]

Survey Start Date [survey:start]

Survey Magic Link [survey:user_magic_link]

Task

Next Task Assignee [task:next_task_assigned_to]

Next Task Description [task:next_task_description]

Next Task Name [task:next_task_name]

Next Task Type [task:next_task_type]

User

Act ID [user:actid]

Active Campus [user:active_campus]

Active Campus - Address [user:active_campus_address]

Active Campus - City [user:active_campus_city]

Active Campus - Country [user:active_campus_country]

Active Campus - State [user:active_campus_state]

Active Campus - Zip [user:active_campus_zip]

Active Degree [user:active_degree]

Active Major [user:active_major]

Active Student Type [user:active_student_type]

Active Term [user:active_term]

Anthology ID [user:anthologyid]

Campus [user_application:campus]

Decision Release Date [user_application:decision_released_at]

Degree [user_application:degree]

Major [user_application:major]

Registration Id [user_application:registration_id]

Status [user_application:status]

Submitted Date [user_application:submitted_time]

Term [user_application:term]

Assignee Email [user:assignee_email]

Assignee First Name [user:assignee_first_name]

Assignee Last Name [user:assignee_last_name]

Assignee Title [user:assignee_title]

Campus Nexus ID [user:campusnexusid]

Cas ID [user:casid]

CFNC ID [user:cfncid]

COALITION ID [user:coalitionid]

College Area of Study [user:college_area_of_study]

College Board ID [user:collegeboardid]

COMMON APP ID [user:commonappid]

COMMON APP TRANSFER ID [user:commonapptransferid]

Checklist [user_decision:checklist]

Date of Birth [user:dob]

EAB ID [user:eabid]

Email Address [user:email_address]

EMAIL ID [user:emailid]

Encoura ID [user:encouraid]

Ethos ID [user:ethosid]

First Name [user:first_name]

Former Last Name [user:former_last_name]

Pronoun (ex. his, her, their ...) [user:gender_pronoun]

Guardian Emails [user:guardian_emails]

Historic ID [user:historicid]

High School Counselor Emails [user:hs_counselor_emails]

High School Counselor Marketing ID [user:hscmid]

User ID [user:id]

Identity Emails [user:identity_emails]

Intended Major [user:intended_major]

Intended Term [user:intended_term]

Last Login Date [user:last_login]

Last Name [user:last_name]

Middle name [user:middle_name]

NC Student Number ID [user:ncstudentnumberid]

Niche ID [user:nicheid]

PARCHMENT ID [user:parchmentid]

Phone Cell International [user:phone_cell_international]

Phone Cell Number [user:phone_cell_number]

Populi ID [user:populiid]

Preferred Name [user:preferred_name]

Name Prefix [user:prefix_name]

RCN ID [user:rcnid]

Relationship Emails [user_related:emails]

Salesforce ID [user:salesforceid]

School Email [user:schoolemail]

SCHOOL ID [user:schoolid]

SCOIR ID [user:scoirid]

SPARK ID [user:sparkid]

STATE ID [user:stateid]

Name Suffix [user:suffix_name]

Zee Mee ID [user:zeemeeid]

Custom Field Tokens

You can manually create tokens for any of your custom data fields. Follow the process outlined below to create one:

How to Create a Custom Field Token

  1. Navigate to Data + Automations > Field Management

  2. Click on Custom Fields in the left-hand menu

  3. Locate your custom field and the slug for that field. You will use the slug to create the token.

  4. Take the token, add "User:" to the front of it, and put it in brackets.

    • Example 1:

      • Slug: user-custom-demo1-dietary-restrictions

      • Token: [user:user-custom-demo1-dietary-restrictions]

    • Example 2:

      • Slug: user-custom-demo1-dietary-explain

      • Token: [user:user-custom-demo1-dietary-explain]


Testing Token Content in Campaigns

To properly test token content in a campaign, you must use the “send to segment” option. If you don’t have a segment comprised of test users, you should create one. This approach is necessary because tokens (and the data they represent) are linked to specific individual records. Therefore, if you test your message by manually entering an email address or phone number, the tokens will not be replaced with actual data.


Link Tokens with Tracking Information

You can generate links using a token with various customizable properties, making it perfect for tracking user interactions and tailoring link behavior. Here are the key parameters you can configure:

Parameter Options + Examples

  • url: The web address you want the link to go to. (Required)

  • tracking: Whether to track link clicks or not. (Required)

  • eid: Option to add eid to tracked links. (Optional)

  • display_text: Custom text to display for the link. (Optional)

Example 1: Redirects to: www.google.com/?eid=Kduwsq234

[link:link,url=www.google.com,tracking=true]=> "<ahref='element.tracking/Wsdweaqw'>click here</a>"

Example 2: Redirects to: www.google.com

[link:link,url=www.google.com,tracking=true,eid=false]
=> "<ahref='element.tracking/Wsdweaqw'>click here</a>"

Example 3: Redirects to: www.google.com/?eid=Kduwsq234

[link:link,url=www.google.com,tracking=true,display_text=click here] => "<a href='element.tracking/Wsdweaqw'>click here</a>"


Login URL vs. Login Token (Magic Links)

When adding a token to a Campaign, you will see several different “login” tokens. Login tokens generate Magic Links, which are unique short-term identifiers that help Element451 identify a student and relate them to an existing record. This allows them to either bypass the authentication process (they won’t have to log in) or pre-populate known information on forms. These features are designed to expedite and improve the student experience. Click the button below to learn more about Magic Links.


Frequently Asked Questions + Troubleshooting

Q: What happens if there is no data for the token to pull?

A: Let's say you have a token for a middle name, [user:middle_name], but the student didn't enter a middle name. The space will be empty because there is no data to replace the token. Therefore, we advise that you mindfully include tokens that have data to be included in the campaigns. Alternatively, you could alter the token to use a fallback parameter to insert a value instead of the token when data is missing. To learn more, click here.

Q: Why aren't my tokens populating?

A: When you send a message (or test to a segment of test users) and one or more of the tokens used in your email don't populate, follow these troubleshooting steps.

Confirm that the contact has data in the field that is associated with that token.

  • If the field is empty, the token may have worked as intended.

  • If there is data present, delete the token and add it back to your campaign. When adding system tokens, you should add them from the token menu. For custom tokens, you should carefully type the whole token.

In some cases, a broken token will simply not populate. In others, a broken token may prevent an email or SMS message from being sent at all. So it is important to ensure you are correctly inserting your tokens.

Avoid copying and pasting tokens or parts of tokens from various sources like other Element451 screens, webpages, documents, or email editors. WYSIWYG editors, like the one used in Element451, can hide HTML code within the copied text. Although this code is harmless and may not otherwise impact the message, it will disrupt the functionality of tokens if included inside the token string.

Did this answer your question?