What you'll learn about:

  1. Assignees
  2. Adding notes/tagging team members
  3. Attaching files 
  4. Open/close status
  5. Adding Participants
  6. Searching and filtering conversations

Assignee

The assignee is indicated in the upper right portion of the header of a conversation. 

When conversations are first started they are unassigned. To assign the conversation to a member of your team, begin typing the name of the person you want to assign it to. Select the matching name when it appears. A tag will be created and the conversation will be assigned to them. 

The Yellow triangle (in corner of conversation): indicates that the conversation is unassigned.


Adding Notes/Tagging and Notifying People in Notes

Within a conversation, you can add an internal note. You can also tag a teammate in the note. They’ll be notified to review the conversation’s content privately. 

To add a note, change the message option from Reply to Note (directly above the message reply box). To tag someone, type “@name.” If it’s an external conversation with a student, the student will not see the note.
 
Tagging

As the number of conversations increases within Element451, it’s helpful to be able to search through them efficiently. This is possible by tagging conversations with things conversations are about (e.g. financial aid, recommendations) or other categories that make sense for your team.

Conversations are automatically tagged with default tags of External or Internal (depending on who’s involved) and SMS if the conversation is through the SMS channel.

To add a new tag, click the blue plus icon next to the default tags. The Tag This Conversation prompt will appear. If the tag you want to use already exists, select it. If you want to create a brand new tag, type the text for the tag and  then press the Enter/Return key. The new tag will appear  among the Conversation tags. Select Done and the tag will be added to the conversation’s default tags. You can now use this tag for future conversations.

Attachments

For email conversations, people can add attachments and insert photos. Attached documents display in the messages as links and conversation participants can download the files. For photos, a preview of the image will display as well. 


Open/Closed Conversations

Conversations always start in Open status, where all participants can freely exchange messages and files. When a conversation is no longer active change the status to Closed.

To close a conversation, click the three dot icon and select Close Conversation. The conversation is now closed. To reopen the conversation click the blue Reopen Conversation button or click the three dot icon and select Re-Open Conversation. 

To track active conversations, you can filter open/closed conversations in your conversations listings. 

Participants

A participant is someone who is either contributing to or following a conversation. Participants are listed by their first name below the conversation’s title/subject line.

Participants receive email notifications for all responses by a student.  

To add a participant, click the blue plus icon next to the current participants. The Add Participants prompt will appear. Type the new participant’s email address and hit Enter/Return to generate the participant’s tag. Click Add. The participant is now part of the conversation. 

Searching and filtering Conversations

To search for a conversation, go to the listing of conversations and in the search area begin typing what you’re looking for.

To narrow your search, click on the filter icon above the list of conversations. You can filter by topic, type, tags, as well as other common types of filters.. 

Additional Conversation Items

  • Star (in conversations preview): Click this to mark a conversation as a Favorite. To show all of your favorite conversations, type “favorite” in the filter search area.

Did this answer your question?