All Collections
Decisions
Decisions: Settings
Decisions: Groups + Permissions
Decisions: Groups + Permissions

Learn how to configure precise user access in the Decisions module with our step-by-step guide on setting up Groups + Permissions.

Michael Stephenson avatar
Written by Michael Stephenson
Updated over a week ago

Overview

Access to the Decisions module through your system-level permission groups is the initial step in configuring user access. However, you must also visit Groups + Permissions within Decision settings to define specific permissions tailored to your users' requirements. This allows for precise management of access to statuses, stages, stage transitions, and cohorts.

We recommend creating an admin permission group that includes your administrators and CRM managers. This group should have full permissions to effectively oversee and manage access.

Accessing Groups + Permissions

  1. Navigate to Applications > Decisions > Decision Settings.

  2. Confirm you are viewing the Groups & Permissions tab.


Decisions Permissions

Configuring these permissions within the Decisions module enables you to provide users with tailored access, optimize efficiency, and align with organizational workflows.

Permissions also ensure robust privacy protection, as they restrict access to sensitive information to authorized personnel only. For instance, individuals who should not view undergraduate applications are not granted permission to view that cohort.

Here's a detailed overview of the available permissions, which can be fine-tuned to meet your specific needs:

  • Status: Assign and change application statuses.

  • Stages: View applications by specific stages.

  • Stage Transitions: Move applications between specific stages.

  • Cohorts: View applications within specified cohorts.


Creating a Permission Group

  1. Navigate to Applications > Decisions > Decision Settings.

  2. Confirm you are on the Groups + Permissions tab.

  3. Click on the circle plus sign button in the bottom right corner of the screen.

  4. Give your permission group a Name and Description.

  5. Click Create.

  6. The editor will open for you to add users and permissions.
    ​

    • Users Tab: Add internal users to the group

      • Click on the Users tab at the top.

      • Click on the circle plus button in the bottom right corner of the screen.

      • Use the search bar to find and add internal users that you wish to add to this permission group. You can search by name or email address. You can also add multiple users in the search bar.

      • Click Add once you have found all the users you wish to add.

    • Permissions Tab: Customize the permission group with fine-tuned permissions

      • Click on the Permissions tab at the top.

      • Check the boxes of the status(es), stage(s), stage transition(s), and cohort(s) that this group should have access to.

      • Your permissions are saved automatically.

It is important to review your permissions when you add new Statuses, Stages, or Cohorts, as they are not automatically assigned to any permission group. For example, if you add a new cohort, it will not be visible to anyone until you update the Decisions permission group(s) that should have access to it. Therefore, you need to make sure that you update the permission group accordingly whenever you introduce something new in the decision settings.


Editing Permission Groups

  1. Navigate to Applications > Decisions > Decision Settings.

  2. Confirm you are on the Groups + Permissions tab.

  3. Locate the permission group you wish to edit and click either the name or the pencil icon to open the editor.

  4. Make your edits:

    • To remove a user: Navigate to the Users tab and click the trashcan icon next to the user's name. You'll be asked to confirm the action.

    • To update permissions: Navigate to the Permissions tab and check/uncheck the relevant permission. Changes are saved automatically.


Deleting Permission Groups

  1. Navigate to Applications > Decisions > Decision Settings.

  2. Confirm you are on the Groups + Permissions tab.

  3. Locate the permission group you wish to edit and click the trashcan icon at the end of the row. You'll be asked to confirm the action.

Did this answer your question?