Decisions: Cohorts

Streamline application management with Cohorts in Decisions, categorizing applications for easier access and organization.

Michael Stephenson avatar
Written by Michael Stephenson
Updated over a week ago

Overview

Cohorts in Decisions are a streamlined method for organizing your application decisions, making them more accessible and easier to manage. Consider cohorts as "smart" folders designed to categorize applications—for example, by type, such as transfer or nursing—based on specific conditions you set.

Applications can belong to multiple cohorts simultaneously, provided they fulfill the necessary conditions for each cohort.

Accessing Cohorts

Cohort Settings

To access your Cohort settings where you add new and manage existing Cohorts:

  1. Navigate to Applications > Decisions > Decision Settings.

  2. Click on the Cohorts tab.

Cohorts of Applications

To access your Cohorts in action and to view the applications within each Cohort:

  1. Navigate to Applications > All Decisions.

  2. Cohorts are listed in the lefthand panel.


Adding Cohorts

  1. Navigate to Applications > Decisions > Decision Settings.

  2. Click on the Cohorts tab.

  3. Click on the circle plus sign button in the bottom right corner of the screen.

  4. Give your Cohort a Name.

  5. Click Create.

  6. Set Conditions:

    • Set your first condition by using the dropdown to select either User Segment and add your filters or User Segment Reference and load an existing segment.

    • Click 'add condition' to add any additional filters.

    • When you're finished adding conditions, you can close out of the Set Conditions side sheet. Your changes are saved automatically.

  7. Toggle Active to Yes: Your new Cohort is defaulted to inactive. You must make it active for it to start enrolling applications.

  8. Adjust your Permission Groups: New Cohorts are not automatically assigned to permission groups, so they will only be visible to you or other internal users once you adjust permissions. Click here for a step-by-step guide to adjusting permission groups.


Editing + Deleting Cohorts

  1. Navigate to Applications > Decisions > Decision Settings.

  2. Click on the Cohorts tab.

  3. Locate the Cohort you wish to edit/delete:

    • To edit the Cohort name, click the pencil icon.

    • To edit the conditions, click on the filter icon.

      • Important: Adjustments made to Cohort condition filters won’t take effect until you toggle the active setting for that cohort on/off to initiate a refresh.

    • To activate/inactive a Cohort, use the Active toggle.

    • To delete a Cohort, click the three vertical dots and select Delete. You will be asked to confirm your action.


Recalculating Cohorts

Cohorts are recalculated only when the conditions defining them are changed. Changing the segment that a cohort references does not automatically trigger a re-evaluation of the cohort. This can lead to inconsistencies if updates to segments are expected to influence existing cohorts.

To manually trigger a cohort re-evaluation, toggle the cohort's active state to inactive and then back to active.


Organizing Cohorts in Folders

Consider organizing your Cohort settings into folders to enhance navigation and quickly access them. Note that these folders are exclusively available in your settings and unavailable when viewing Decisions.

Creating Folders

  1. Navigate to Applications > Decisions > Decision Settings.

  2. Click on the Cohorts tab.

  3. In the lefthand panel, click + Add Folder.

  4. Give your folder a Name.

  5. Click Create.

Editing + Deleting Folders

  1. Navigate to Applications > Decisions > Decision Settings.

  2. Click on the Cohorts tab.

  3. In the lefthand panel, locate the folder you wish to edit/delete.

  4. Click the three vertical dots next to the folder name.

    • To edit the folder name, click Edit.

    • To delete a folder, click Delete.

Moving Cohorts to Folders

  1. Navigate to Applications > Decisions > Decision Settings.

  2. Click on the Cohorts tab.

  3. Locate the Cohort you wish to add to a folder.

  4. Click the three vertical dots at the end of the row.

  5. Click Move to Folder and select the folder of your choosing.

Did this answer your question?